Previous Record of The Month, Truth or Consequences is Yumi Zouma’s third album and first for NZ label Polyvinyl. It was produced by the band and mixed by engineer Jake Aron (Solange, Grizzly Bear, Snail Mail).


Christie Simpson’s voice gives weight to whispers of impressionistic poetry, shielding hard truths with soft tones, while Josh Burgess’ vocals reveal a rarified dimension of raw and lucid romanticism, with lead single 'Right Track / Wrong Man', in particular, exhibiting a Balearic tempo and bass-heavy energy that belies its underlying tension.


The first Yumi Zouma album to feature live drums, Truth or Consequences radiates a brazen spirit of perseverance.“I love the duality in a lot of disco songs, where they’re incredibly upbeat, but there’s real frustration in the lyrics – sort of like, ‘Nothing’s going the way I want, but I’ve got to deal with it any way I can,’” Simpson says.



A1. Lonely After

A2. Right Track / Wrong Man

A3. Southwark

A4. Sage

A5. Mirror To The Fire

B1. Cool For A Second

B2. Truer Than Ever

B3. My Palms Are Your Reference

B4. To Hold To Your Heart

B5. Magazine Bay

B6. Lie Like You Want Me Back

Yumi Zouma - Truth Or Consequences (Limited Edition coke bottle green vinyl


    Sign up to receive our newsletter, exclusive deals and more.

    Waxx Lyrical 2020

    • Facebook - White Circle
    • Instagram - White Circle
    • Twitter - White Circle
    • Spotify