Sign up to receive our newsletter, exclusive deals and more.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

Waxx Lyrical 2020

Fresh from being awarded Triple J's coveted ALBUM OF THE YEAR award! 


Sampa The Great creates a sense of home, presenting her debut album ‘The Return’. Featuring energetic singles ‘OMG’ and ‘Final Form’ (the most played song on triple j and Double J for 2019 so far), ‘The Return’ takes reference points ranging from classic hip-hop to ancient Southern African sounds. Built on four years of personal and musical soul-searching, it’s an assured statement that tackles bigger questions, exploring what it means to feel at home, to feel excluded, and to see someone as an outsider.


The album features the likes of Ecca Vandal and Jace XL on feature duties, and was produced by Silentjay, Kwes Darko (Slowthai), Clever Austin (Hiatus Kiayote) Blue Lab Beats and Syreniscreamy. The Album was mixed by Jonwayne (of Stones Throw notoriety), MsM (Skepta/Boy Better Know) and Andrei Eremin (GRAMMY-nominated engineer for Hiatus Kaiyote and Chet Faker).


Having toured extensively at festivals like Splendour In The Grass, Groovin’ The Moo and Glastonbury in the UK, Sampa has also announced an extensive Australian tour for later this year to give her fans a first taste of ‘The Return’. Going from strength to strength in 2019, ‘The Return’ will solidify Sampa The Great as the truly accomplished artist she has become.


Tracklist - 


LP 1 - Side A

  • 1. Mwana (feat. Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir)
  • 2. Freedom
  • 3. Wake Up (Interlude)
  • 4. Times Up (feat. Krown)
  • 5. Grass Is Greener


LP 1 - Side B

  • 1. Dare To Fly (feat. Ecca Vandal)
  • 2. Any Day (feat. Whosane)
  • 3. OMG
  • 4. Light It Up (Interlude)
  • 5. Final Form
  • 6. Heaven (feat. Whosane)


LP 2 - Side C

  • 1. Diamond In The Ruff (feat. Thando, Krown)
  • 2. Leading Us Home
  • 3. Summer (feat. Steam Down)
  • 4. Brand New (feat. SILENTJAY)


LP 2 - Side D

  • 1. Give Love (Interlude)
  • 2. The Return (feat. Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
  • 3. Dont Give Up (feat. Mandarin Dreams)
  • 4. Made Us Better (feat. Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori)

Sampa The Great - The Return (Transparent Red & Green Vinyl)