30th Anniversary Edition of Pixies’ Mini-Album and Debut Album, Come On Pilgrim and Surfer Rosa, includes Bonus 1986 Radio Concert Live From The Fallout Shelter.

It’s been thirty years since the release of Surfer Rosa – a record made up of rage, religion, gore, incest and superheroes named Tony – a debut album so good that it’s now seen as a masterpiece. A year prior came Come On Pilgrim, an eight-track mini-album released in 1987 which contained cuts culled from their first ever studio session, where they famously recorded seventeen tracks in just three days.


These formative records showed the Pixies to be an alien breed; four oddball outsiders from Boston blending US underground thrash rock, indie surf pop and Spanish-language flamenco with the Biblical mythology of Frances’s childhood. They would go on to record another masterpiece in 1989’s Doolittle but it’s the gruesome glory of Surfer Rosa, and the ruined sexuality of its cover image (a topless flamenco dancer in a crumbling Mexican bar) that set a fresh blueprint for an indie rock dynamism that not only planted the seeds of grunge (Kurt Cobain would admit that he was trying to imitate the record while writing Nevermind) but of much of the best rock music made since.


To celebrate this milestone, Pixies are playing five sold-out intimate shows at London’s Roundhouse starting this October and preceding them is the release of Come On Pilgrim... It’s Surfer Rosa, the thirtieth anniversary edition which contains Come On Pilgrim, Surfer Rosa and Live From The Fallout Shelter, a concert-cum-session that first aired in late-1986 on WJUL in Lowell, MA. Vaughan Oliver returns as designer – as with all other Pixies sleeves – to stunningly reinterpret his original artwork thirty years on, delivering a fresh take while retaining Simon Larbalestier’s iconic photographs as the centrepiece of his design.



Come On Pilgrim

  • Caribou
  • Vamos (pilgrim)
  • Isla De Encanta
  • Ed Is Dead
  • The Holiday Song
  • Nimrod’s Son
  • I’ve Been Tired
  • Levitate Me


Surfer Rosa

  • Bone Machine
  • Break My Body
  • Something Against You
  • Broken Face
  • Gigantic
  • River Euphrates
  • Where Is My Mind?
  • Cactus
  • Tony’s Theme
  • Oh My Golly!
  • Vamos (Surfer Rosa)
  • I’m Amazed
  • Brick Is Red


Live From The Fallout Shelter

  • Holiday Song
  • I’m Amazed
  • Rock A My Soul
  • Isla De Encanta
  • Caribou
  • Broken Face
  • Subbacultcha
  • Build High
  • Ed Is Dead
  •  Nimrod’s Son
  •  Down To The Well
  •  I’ve Been Tired
  •  Boom Chicka Boom
  •  Vamos
  •  In Heaven


Become a member of Waxx Lyrical's Vinyl Sunscription Club and receive exclusive discounts on records like this one! 

The Pixies - Come On Pilgrim, It's Surfa Rosa


    Sign up to receive our newsletter, exclusive deals and more.

    Waxx Lyrical 2020

    • Facebook - White Circle
    • Twitter - White Circle
    • Instagram - White Circle