Frightened Rabbit's “The Winter Of Mixed Drinks” turns 10 this year and in order to celebrate the band will release an Anniversary Edition, comprising of a Limited Edition Ice Blue Vinyl and an additional bonus 7” featuring two previously unreleased live tracks, remixed and remastered for this release.


‘The Winter Of Mixed Drinks’ was written over seven weeks in the isolated but beautiful coastal town of Crail in Fyfe, Scotland, following heavy touring in support of the band’s second album ‘The Midnight Organ Fight’. Grant Hutchison, drummer, stated “the location had a big impact on the songs. There’s definitely a nautical theme to a lot of the tracks and a feeling of testing yourself to the limit which the sea plays a big part in.”


The album was primarily recorded at Castle Sound Studios in Scotland, with additional recording and production taking place at Tarquin studios in Connecticut, alongside their trusted producer Peter Katis. Upon release in March 2010 The Album was greeted with widespread critical acclaim, Drowned in Sound praising frontman Scott Hutchison, describing his performance as having ‘ the same tremble in the voice, the same elegance in the guitar tone, the same march of the Military Tattoo in the rhythm – but a renewed purpose” The Fly also praised Scott claiming him to be “one of the most underrated voices in rock” and going further, summarised the review by stating “what more could you possibly want from Frightened Rabbit’s third album? They’re hurling themselves fearlessly at the bright lights, and coming back all the stronger for it.” The Guardian praised the album’s “sharp” songwriting, stating, “most of their songs – with themes of escape, freedom and reinvention – have huge impassioned choruses that are made to be shouted from the nearest available mountain” whilst the NME maintained the album to be “Stunning’ and praising the bands progression, further wrote “For every song of heartache (‘Yes, I Would’) and self-loathing (‘The Loneliness & The Scream’), there’s one of redemption (‘Foot Shooter’) or hope (‘Swim Until You Can’t See Land’).


The album deviates from their previous altfolkish sensibilities: the fuzzed-up shoegazing of ‘Things’ and the anthemic chorus of ‘Living In Colour’ herald an exciting new bullshit-free dawn.”



1. Things

2. Swim Until You Can't See Land

3. The Loneliness and the Scream

4. The Wrestle

5. Skip the Youth

6. Nothing Like You

7. Man/Bag of Sand

8. FootShooter

9. Not Miserable

10. Living In Colour

11. Yes, I Would


7" Vinyl

1. Things (Live at the Roundhouse, London, UK. December 7th 2016)

2. The Wrestle (Live at The Grog Shop, Cleveland, OH, USA. May 5th 2010)

Frightened Rabbit - Winter Of Mixed Drinks (Ice Blue Vinyl + Bonus 7")


    Sign up to receive our newsletter, exclusive deals and more.

    Waxx Lyrical 2020

    • Facebook - White Circle
    • Instagram - White Circle
    • Twitter - White Circle
    • Spotify